NLGJA Headlines

6th Annual LGBT Media Journalists Convening

The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association is proud to host the 2015 LGBT Media Journalists Convening, sponsored by the Evelyn and Walter Haas Jr. Fund.With the theme of "What Happens When You Catch the Car," the forum will be held Friday, March 13 to Sunday, March 15, in Philadelphia, PA. The goal of the forum is to strengthen the capacity of LGBT members of the media and blogosphere... read more.

NLGJA Mourns the Death of Dori Maynard

The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association extends its condolences to the family of Dori Maynard. We, as her friends and colleagues in the push for diversity and inclusion in journalism, share in the sadness and loss with her passing on... read more.

A Call for Applications to NLGJA 2015 Scholarships

Two national scholarships are awarded annually to deserving students dedicated to fostering fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issuesFor Immediate Release: February 24, 2015 Media Contact: Bach Polakowski or 202-588-9888Washington, DC - The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association today announced a call for entries for the... read more.

New Membership Offer for Allies of NLGJA

NLGJA offers longtime supporters a new way to partner toward fair and accurate coverageFor Immediate Release: February 18, 2015 Media Contact: Bach Polakowski or 202-588-9888Washington, DC – The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association today announced a campaign to encourage allies to join and take part in its programs for... read more.

Excellence in Journalism Awards 2015

The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association is now accepting submissions for its 2015 Excellence in Journalism Awards.Only work that was published in 2014 is eligible. Submissions are due Thursday, April 23, 2015. To submit your entry, please apply here:Excellence in Journalism Awards |... read more.

Open Letter: Covering Transgender People

The National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association (NLGJA) is made up of working journalists and media professionals. We are not an advocacy group. Our mission is to ensure fair and accurate coverage of issues that affect the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) communities.Recent coverage of Olympic gold medalist and reality TV star Bruce Jenner has raised questions in many newsrooms... read more.

Talk show host Meredith Vieira to host NLGJA New York Benefit

Washington, D.C. - The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association (NLGJA) is proud to announce that daytime talk show host Meredith Vieira will host its 20th annual New York Benefit: Headlines & Headliners on Thursday, April 16th.Each year, the star-studded event raises tens of thousands of dollars for the organization’s programs, including those that provide... read more.

NLGJA Opens 2015 Nominations to the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame

The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2015. Please join us in recognizing honorees for the 10th year of our LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame.Leroy Aarons founded NLGJA in 1990 – and inspired us all by pioneering a watershed change in the profession of journalism and newsrooms throughout the nation. When Roy passed away in 2004, many NLGJA members... read more.

NLGJA Calls on the Star Tribune to Clarify Its Standards for Ads

To the leadership of the Star Tribune,We are again writing you today on behalf the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association. As we did in September, we are reaching out to you because of the attention you've received over an ad you recently ran in your paper.We're disappointed that the Star Tribune and other Minnesota papers are running a factually inaccurate ad that could be damaging... read more.

Letter from the President: Support NLGJA This Giving Season

Dear Members,This giving season, I ask that you think about what NLGJA has meant to you and how you can join me in sustaining our organization for the future.NLGJA, as an organization, has made many strides. We have NLGJA to thank for the domestic partnership benefits many of us have in our newsrooms. It is NLGJA that helps to improve... read more.